Durability
Durability
KKR is 50 years old, manages $743.9 billion, and has 92% of that capital locked for eight years or longer [1][2][3]. Fee revenue has compounded 15.6% a year for a decade with no year down more than 2.8%. But the firm's own 10-K calls its industry "intensely competitive," the entry barrier that actually blocks a new entrant covers only the insurance fifth of earnings, and the framework's adjusted-FCF measure cannot be computed here at all.
Conviction Sources
The framework's year-10 gate draws conviction from five named sources. Each is graded below for KKR specifically, on the filed record — not on the firm's reputation.
Sources: FY2025 Form 10-K, Business Segments, Regulation, Competition and Human Capital [4][5][6]; peer 10-Ks for the AUM pool.
Market Structure
The Business tab describes what KKR does. What matters for year-10 conviction is whether the industry's shape protects the fee stream, and it does not do so the way a monopoly or duopoly would. At December 31, 2025 the six largest listed alternative managers held roughly $5.1 trillion between them: Blackstone about $1.3 trillion [7], Brookfield Asset Management over $1 trillion [8], Apollo $938.4 billion [9], KKR $743.9 billion [10], Ares $622.5 billion [11] and Carlyle $477 billion [12].
Sources: each firm's FY2025 and FY2024 Form 10-K, Item 1 Business — Blackstone [13][14], Apollo [15][16], KKR [17][18], Ares [19][20], Carlyle [21][22], Brookfield [23]. Blackstone and Brookfield state AUM to one decimal or as "over $1 trillion"; Brookfield's FY2024 10-K does not state a comparable figure in its business section, so it is excluded from the share arithmetic below.
KKR is 14.6% of that $5.1 trillion pool and the largest member, Blackstone, is 25.6%. Six firms of comparable order, none dominant, all competing for the same commitments — that is an oligopoly, not the monopoly or duopoly the framework treats as a source of year-10 conviction. And the pool itself is a slice of a market its own participants size in the tens of trillions.
Share is stable across the two year-ends for which all five comparable firms disclose a figure. KKR was 18.7% of the five-firm pool at end-2024 ($637.6B of $3,414.0B) and 18.2% at end-2025 ($743.9B of $4,081.8B) — a pool growing 19.6% while KKR grew 16.7%. Stability without gain. Two observations is a thin window, and it is the window the indexed peer filings support; the longer-run structural claim rests on KKR's own AUM series rather than on measured share.
The counter-evidence is the company's own language. KKR writes that its "asset management and capital markets businesses operate in an intensely competitive industry," and lists as competitors not only other alternative managers but traditional asset managers, investment banks, commercial finance companies, sovereign wealth funds and strategic corporate buyers [24]. The risk-factor version is blunter: "Some of our competitors may have greater financial, technical, marketing and other resources, and more personnel than us," and competition for fundraising turns on "investment performance… quality of services, pricing, fund terms including fees" [25]. Every one of those is an execution variable. Execution is not a moat under this framework, and the company describes its competitive position in almost entirely execution terms.
Regulatory Entry Barriers
Two regimes apply, and they do very different work.
The asset-management regime is the Investment Advisers Act of 1940. KKR's advisory subsidiaries are SEC-registered investment advisers subject to anti-fraud provisions, fiduciary duties, periodic examination, compliance-program, record-keeping and disclosure requirements [26]. KKR Capital Markets is a registered broker-dealer subject to the SEC's uniform net capital rule [27]. What that regime actually blocks is conduct, not entry: it imposes fiduciary obligations and compliance cost, and it does not stop a credible team from raising a fund. The regulator is not standing between a new entrant and KKR's fee pool the way a banking or insurance licence stands between a startup and a deposit base.
The insurance regime does block entry. Global Atlantic's four U.S. insurance subsidiaries are domiciled in Massachusetts, Iowa and Indiana and licensed in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands [28]. Every one is subject to minimum capital and surplus requirements, U.S. risk-based capital standards with regulatory action triggered at 200% RBC and below, and — for the Bermuda companies — a Bermuda Solvency Capital Requirement ratio the BMA expects to be held at 120% or better. Failure "will result in regulatory actions, including in certain circumstances regulatory takeover of the insurance company" [29].
That is a genuine barrier, and it covers Insurance segment operating earnings of $1,109.4 million against total operating earnings of $4,985.8 million — 22.2% of the recurring earnings base [30]. It also cuts the other way on cash: Commonwealth Annuity, the U.S. holding company's dividend conduit, "has negative unassigned surplus" and must obtain written Massachusetts approval before paying any dividend [31]. The same regulator that keeps entrants out also keeps cash in.
Capital Intensity
This conviction source does not apply to the business that produces KKR's recurring earnings. KKR employed 5,043 people firm-wide at year-end 2025 — 2,705 in Asset Management, of whom about 980 are investment, capital markets and Capstone professionals [32]. Purchases of fixed assets in FY2025 were $160.8 million and occupancy expense $135.9 million, against management fees of $4,100.8 million [33][34][35]. There is no replacement-cost wall here: the replacement cost of a fund franchise is a track record and a set of LP relationships.
Where capital intensity does appear is on the balance sheet — $410.1 billion of total assets [36], and roughly $30 billion of KKR and employee capital invested in or committed to its own funds and portfolio companies, of which about $15 billion is funded from the balance sheet and $10 billion committed [37]. That is real skin, and it is the mechanism by which Global Atlantic's regulatory capital becomes an entry barrier. It is not a moat around the fee stream.
Essentialness and Operating History
KKR is not essential in the way a pipeline or a water utility is essential: an LP that stops committing to KKR funds suffers no service interruption. What substitutes for essentialness here is contract. As of December 31, 2025, approximately 92% of AUM "consists of capital that has a duration of at least eight years at inception or longer, including what we refer to as perpetual capital" [38], and a further $118.4 billion of uncalled commitments sits ready to start paying fees [39]. That is the strongest year-10 fact in this tab: the fee base for much of the next decade is already contracted.
On operating history the source applies without qualification. KKR was founded in 1976, "pioneered the leveraged buyout strategy and has been a leader of the private equity industry for five decades" [40]; management marked the firm's 50th birthday on the Q1 2026 call and noted it has been public for about one third of that span [41]. The qualification is that the KKR of today is young: Global Atlantic was acquired in 2021 and fully bought in 2024 [42], and K-Series wealth AUM went from $8 billion in 2023 [43] to $34 billion in 2025 [44]. A 50-year history is evidence about a firm that has spent 46 of those years not being this firm.
The Contracted Fee Base
Fifteen years of AUM, as the company charts it: $62 billion at the end of 2010 to $743.9 billion at the end of 2025, an 18.0% compound rate with a single down year (2011, −3.2%).
Source: FY2025 Form 10-K, Business Segments — Asset Management [45]. The 2021-2025 chart values round the MD and A figures ($470.6B, $503.9B, $552.8B, $637.6B, $743.9B).
The recurring earnings that base produces have risen every year on record. Management fees went from $1,248.5 million in 2019 to $4,100.8 million in 2025; fee related earnings from $1,080.3 million to $3,714.3 million — a 22.9% compound rate through a period that included the 2022 drawdown in both equity and credit markets.
Sources: FY2025 Form 10-K, Analysis of Asset Management Segment Operating Results [46]; FY2023 [47], FY2022 [48], FY2021 [49] and FY2021 prior-year comparison [50] 10-Ks.
FRE margin on FY2025 asset-management fee revenues computes to 69.1%: management fees of $4,100.8M plus transaction and monitoring fees of $1,092.6M plus fee related performance revenues of $181.8M equals $5,375.2M, less fee related compensation of $940.7M and other operating expenses of $720.2M, gives $3,714.3M [51]. Management confirmed roughly the same margin in Q1 2026 [52]. A $3.7 billion earnings stream carrying a 69% margin is the size of prize that draws entrants, and the framework's test is whether anyone can take it.
Structural Threats
Private Credit and Direct Lending
This is the named, live threat, and it is the one the sector repriced on. Every peer's Q1 2026 call opens on it: Apollo's CEO calls the press "fixated on a $2 trillion slice of this market, which should properly be called levered lending" [53]; Brookfield's credit co-CEO argues for separating "the fundamentals of private credit" from "the excesses and select parts of direct lending" [54]; Ares notes the industry holds over $500 billion of undeployed credit capital, "larger than the size of the entire non-traded BDC industry" [55].
Sized against KKR, the exposure is bounded. Direct lending is $39 billion, 5% of AUM; the private BDC footprint is around $3 billion, 0.4% of AUM; the public BDC FSK is under 2% of AUM [56]. Applying KKR's firm-wide blended management-fee rate of 0.735% (FY2025 management fees over average FPAUM) to the entire $39 billion direct-lending book gives $286.6 million — 7.0% of FY2025 management fees and 7.7% of FRE. That is the upper bound if the whole business went to zero, which is not a scenario anyone in the corpus proposes. A plausible year-10 impairment — a credit cycle that halves the direct-lending fee base and slows growth in adjacent credit strategies — is in the low single digits of FRE.
The honest counter-fact on the other side: the threat is not confined to the $39 billion. Credit and Liquid Strategies is $322.0 billion of AUM, KKR's largest business line by AUM [57], and $43.8 billion of the firm's $94.6 billion of FY2025 capital invested went into it, driven by "a higher level of capital deployed across our private credit strategies, most notably direct lending" [58][59]. A credit cycle that damages the asset class's reputation reaches further than the direct-lending line item. Set against that, KKR raised $15 billion of credit capital in Q1 2026 — one of its larger credit quarters — with inflows more than doubling quarter over quarter, and reported wealth-channel redemptions of about $250 million against $4 billion of K-Series inflows [60].
Insurance Spread Compression
The second threat is quantified by management against itself. On the Q1 2026 call the CFO said competition on the annuity liability side "is very high," that on the asset side "spreads are as tight as they've been in a very long time," and that "the combination of those two things is putting some increased competitive pressure on ROEs" — which is why KKR pulled back on origination in the quarter [61]. Global Atlantic's individual retirement-product volumes had already fallen from $14,821 million in 2024 to $12,339 million in 2025, and institutional-channel volumes from $27,115 million to $20,953 million [62].
The exposed slice is Insurance segment operating earnings of $1,109.4 million, 22.2% of FY2025 total operating earnings [63]. A spread environment that permanently compressed Global Atlantic's ROE by a third would remove roughly $370 million, about 7.4% of operating earnings, before any offsetting growth in the in-force book. Management's own framing is that spread cycles mean-revert and that $6 billion of dry equity translating into "$60-plus billion of buying power" is positioned to buy the dislocation [64]. That is a cyclical read on a cyclical pressure, and it is the reading the record so far supports.
Fee-Rate Compression
The industry-wide fee-compression thesis is the one structural threat this tab searched for and did not find in KKR's numbers. Blended management fee rate on average fee-paying AUM:
Source: derived from reported financials — management fees divided by the average of opening and closing fee-paying AUM, FY2021-FY2025 10-Ks [65][66][67][68][69].
The 2022 step down (0.762% to 0.691%) is the Global Atlantic consolidation adding a large, low-fee-rate asset pool, not price concession. From 2022 to 2025 the blended rate rose 4.4 basis points while FPAUM grew from $411.9 billion to $604.1 billion. Peers describe the pressure in their risk factors — Ares writes that "institutional investors have continued increasing pressure to reduce management and investment fees charged by external managers" [70] — but on KKR's disclosed arithmetic, mix and repricing have more than absorbed it over four years. Four years is not ten, and the wealth channel KKR is scaling into carries different economics than the flagship funds; the rate is a series to watch, not a threat that has landed.
Technology and Regulatory Reversal
KKR's AI risk factor points at its portfolio, not at its fee stream: "artificial intelligence may materially disrupt the industries in which we invest, the businesses of our portfolio companies and the valuations of our investments" [71]. That is where the exposure sits. A capital allocator whose returns depend on holding companies for five to seven years across an industrial transition faces valuation risk in the portfolio, not disintermediation of the fee contract. The corpus contains no evidence that anyone is trying to make the fund-management function itself obsolete; the disintermediation vector that exists — LPs co-investing and investing directly to avoid fees — predates AI by two decades and has coexisted with the fee-rate series above.
On regulation, the recent movement has run in KKR's favor and could reverse. In June 2024 a Fifth Circuit panel "unanimously vacated the SEC's private fund adviser new rules and amendments to existing rules under the Investment Advisers Act of 1940" [72], and Brookfield's management points to a U.S. executive order laying groundwork for private-strategy access through workplace retirement plans as a source of "hundreds of billions to trillions of net new flows into alternatives over time" [73]. A benign regulatory posture toward retail and retirement access to private markets is embedded in every alternative manager's growth plan, KKR's included. A reversal — a DOL or SEC posture that restricts 401(k) or wealth-channel access — would remove the fastest-growing part of the fee base. K-Series AUM is $34 billion, 4.6% of total AUM today [74], so the direct year-10 exposure is small; the growth assumption built on it is not.
The 2008 Stress Test
The corpus contains one true stress test, and it is severe. KKR's 2010 registration statement records that fees were $235.2 million in 2008, "a decrease of $627.1 million, or 72.7%, from the year ended December 31, 2007," driven by a $641.8 million collapse in transaction fees [75]. Revenue fell by nearly three-quarters in one year.
The same page carries the offsetting fact. Fee-paying AUM was $43.4 billion at December 31, 2008 and $42.8 billion at December 31, 2009 — down 1.5% through the 2008-09 financial crisis [76]. The asset base held; the revenue mix broke. In 2007, transaction fees were at least 74% of total fees ($641.8M of $862.3M) [77]. In FY2025, management fees are 76.3% of asset-management fee revenues and transaction and monitoring fees 20.3% [78]. The mix that produced a 73% revenue collapse has been inverted. That inversion is the strongest single piece of evidence that the 2008 experience does not repeat in the same form — and it is an inference from mix, not from a second observed crisis.
Disqualifier Check
The framework's disqualifier is revenue declining high-single-digit for three consecutive fiscal years after a long existence. The deterministic feature file records revenue_trajectory.consecutive_decline_years = 0 and revenue_trajectory.three_year_hsd_decline = false.
Source: fit_features.revenue_trajectory, derived from the run's structured financial feed. The series carries no PDF page of its own; the underlying line agrees with the "Fees and Other" line of the consolidated statements of operations [79].
Two things about that series must be said plainly. It ends at FY2020 — five years before the current fiscal year — and it is not KKR's total revenue. FY2020's $2,006.8 million is the "Fees and Other" line; KKR's FY2020 GAAP total revenues were $4,230.9 million [80]. The extraction lost the tag after the Insurance segment was added in 2021. So the flag is correct on its own data but cannot, by itself, run the test the framework asks for. Extending the identical line item from the filings:
Sources: FY2025 [81], FY2024 [82], FY2023 [83], FY2022 [84] and FY2021 [85] 10-Ks. FY2016-FY2019 total revenues are not stated in the indexed filings.
On the extended fee line, ten fiscal years contain two down years — FY2019 at −2.8% and FY2022 at −1.0% — neither high-single-digit, and never two in a row. Compound growth is 15.6% a year. On GAAP total revenues, FY2025 fell 11.0% ($21,878.7M to $19,464.3M), an 11.0% fall that clears the framework's high-single-digit threshold; it is one year, not three, and its cause is disclosed: insurance net premiums fell from $7,898.8 million to $3,397.2 million [86], on fewer assumed reinsurance transactions carrying life-contingency or morbidity risk [87], while fee revenue rose. The GAAP line swings between $4.2 billion and $21.9 billion across six years because unrealised carried interest and insurance investment marks run through it; it is not a series from which trend can be read.
Structural decline: searched for and not found. On every series the corpus supports — AUM, fee-paying AUM, management fees, fee related earnings, the fee revenue line — the direction over ten years is up, and no decline streak reaches two years, let alone three.
FCF Consistency
The framework's P2 test is the rolling five-year average of adjusted FCF. It cannot be run here. fit_features.fcf_stability is empty, with the stated reason "fewer than five consecutive adjusted-FCF years," and fit_features.adjusted_fcf.latest_adjusted is null, with the reason "missing SBC for FY 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019; no complete consecutive five-year acquisition window with SBC."
The deeper problem is that the input would not mean anything if it were complete. KKR consolidates its funds and CLOs, and the purchases and sales of those funds' investments run through operating activities: FY2025 shows "Investments Purchased — Asset Management and Strategic Holdings" of $(42,904.1) million and proceeds of $33,698.2 million inside net cash from operations of $477.8 million [88]. Reported free cash flow on the feature file's definition (operating cash flow less capex) would be $477.8M − $160.8M = $317.0 million for a firm that earned $3,714.3 million of fee related earnings. The four years the feature file does carry — FY2016 to FY2019 — show FCF of −$1.50 billion, −$3.63 billion, −$7.71 billion and −$5.88 billion, which is fund deployment, not cash burn.
The nearest defensible substitute is the firm's own cash-earnings measure — after-tax distributable earnings, renamed Adjusted Net Income in the FY2024 filing on identical figures ($4,202.3M for 2024, $3,040.1M for 2023, $3,512.3M for 2022) [89][90]. It is not adjusted FCF: it is stated before the framework's SBC deduction (equity-based compensation was $722.1 million in FY2025 [91]) and before acquisition spend, and it is management-defined. Read with that caveat:
Source: derived from reported non-GAAP measures — after-tax distributable earnings, renamed Adjusted Net Income from FY2024, FY2021-FY2025 10-Ks [92][93][94][95][96]. This is not adjusted FCF; the framework's measure is not computable.
Three rolling five-year averages are available and they rise monotonically: $2,770.1 million (2019-2023), $3,287.9 million (2020-2024), $3,809.6 million (2021-2025). The year-to-year series is volatile in the way the framework tolerates — 2021's $3,916.1 million fell 22.4% to $3,040.1 million by 2023 [97] as carried-interest realizations dried up, then recovered past the old peak. There are no negative years in the window, so the insurance-and-banking cadence question (a negative episode every five to eight years, inherent to the model) does not arise on this measure. It would arise on a longer history that the corpus does not contain: an economic net loss of $1.2 billion in KKR's Private Markets segment in 2008 [98] is the one recorded episode, seventeen years back and under a different business mix.
What can be said: the recurring share of earnings has risen to the point where the cyclical part is a minority. Total operating earnings of $4,985.8 million were 84.6% of total segment earnings of $5,890.3 million in FY2025 [99]; management put the trailing-twelve-month figure at 85% on the Q1 2026 call [100]. What cannot be said is that the P2 test was run: it was not, because its input does not exist for this company.
The Year-10 Case
The case that year-10 revenue and adjusted FCF are higher. Ninety-two percent of $743.9 billion of AUM is contracted for eight years or more at inception or is perpetual, and $118.4 billion of uncalled commitments has not yet started paying fees [101][102]. Management fees and fee related earnings have risen in every one of the seven years on record, including 2022 [103][104]. The one prior crisis on record took fee-paying AUM down 1.5%, not 30% [105]. The blended fee rate has risen, not fallen, since 2022. The live threat — private credit — touches 5% of AUM directly and bounds at 7.7% of FRE. Fifty years of operating history sits behind the franchise [106]. On revenue, the case is strong.
The case for doubt. The framework's conviction sources mostly do not apply to this company: market structure is a six-firm oligopoly in which KKR holds 14.6% of AUM and management describes competition on performance, service, pricing and terms — execution variables, which carry no year-10 protection. Regulatory entry barriers gate the insurance fifth of operating earnings, not the fee engine. Capital intensity is absent from the business that generates the recurring earnings. The essentialness argument reduces to contract duration, and contracts expire: the eight-year lock is a floor under years one through eight, not under year ten. The 50-year history covers a firm that spent 46 of those years without an insurance balance sheet, a private-wealth channel or a $322 billion credit book. And the framework's adjusted-FCF measure — the thing the gate is half about — cannot be computed for KKR at all, because consolidated-fund deployment runs through operating cash flow. On the closest substitute, cash earnings fell 22.4% from 2021 to 2023 inside a five-year window.
The read. The gate is not met. Year-10 revenue being higher is a high-confidence call; year-10 adjusted FCF being higher, with the very high conviction this gate requires, is not — the measure is not computable, the earnings underneath it contain a carried-interest stream that has already fallen 22% inside five years and an insurance spread stream management itself describes as under ROE pressure, and the structural sources of conviction the framework relies on grade out as partial, absent or execution-based. The strongest evidence against this read is not small: 92% of a $744 billion asset base is contracted for eight years or longer, and every fee measure the company reports has risen every year for seven years. What would change the read is a longer adjusted-FCF record on a basis that strips consolidated-fund flows, four or more years of a stable-or-rising blended fee rate through a credit downturn, and evidence that the fee base regenerates rather than merely runs off — the 2027-2030 flagship re-up cycle is where that becomes observable.